My big gripe with pop music (or at least one of my big gripes) is that it tends to be in 4/4 (basically always) and major keys (a lot of the time). So a while ago, when I noticed that a ton of Britney Spears’ most popular songs are in minor keys. Here’s a list of her singles that made the charts, with major key songs crossed out:

“…Baby One More Time”

“Sometimes”

“(You Drive Me) Crazy”

“Born To Make You Happy”

“From the Bottom of My Broken Heart”

“Oops!…I Did It Again”

“Lucky” (mostly)

“Stronger”

“Don’t Let Me Be The Last To Know”

“I’m A Slave 4 U”

“Overprotected”

“I’m Not A Girl, Not Yet A Woman”

“I Love Rock ‘n’ Roll”

“Anticipating”

“Boys”

“Me Against The Music”

“Toxic”

“Everytime”

“Outrageous”

“My Prerogative”

“Do Somethin”

“Someday (I Will Understand)”

“Gimme More”

“Piece Of Me”

“Break The Ice”

“Womanizer”

“Circus”

“If You Seek Amy”

“Radar”

“3”

“Hold It Against Me”

“Till The World Ends” (kind of?)

“I Wanna Go”

“Criminal”

“Ooh La La” (sort of modal)

“Work Bitch”

“Perfume”

“Pretty Girls”

“Make Me…”

“Slumber Party”

 

There’s no way that this is a coincidence.

 

Leave a Reply

